A Charter of European Public Goods

Charta 2020 is a vision for a democratic and egalitarian European Union and a demand to recognize 20 European public goods that would get us there.

Charta 2020 is promoted by Agora Europe and has been collectively written by several dozen international activists and academics. It outlines the conditions for European integration across 20 public goods that we Europeans should endorse to make Europe a better and safer place for all citizens and residents.

Do you want to play a key role in enhancing democracy in the EU? Do you want to actively contribute to shaping the European political space of the future? Then take charge yourself! Endorse Charta 2020!

We, the citizens of Europe, believe that our European unity and our citizenship are intertwined and do not rest solely on fundamental individual rights nor on treaties between democratic states, but on some more basic and concrete public goods, which ask to be defined, declared and protected. This has been the very purpose of the European Union since its inception: to create and sustain through time some vital public goods and promote them globally.

By definition, a public good is a good that eludes both rivalry and exclusion; a good made available to everyone so that their enjoyment does not rest on competition and does not involve exclusion. Public goods are predicated on the principles of non-exclusion and non-rivalry. This amounts to saying that even those parts of a society that have not directly participated in the definition and actualization of these public goods can benefit from them.

Charta 2020 defines some of the main European public goods. We believe they are at the heart of Europe’s purpose and its commitments towards its citizens. We think they should become an object of debate at all levels of society in Europe. This Charter offers a new frame of discussion to elaborate and propose a new agenda for the EU in the next decade. It advocates a renewed EU commitment by enabling its citizens to collectively create and sustain those public goods that underpin their commitment to the European project.

An essence of self-government, public goods could through time become objects of our political desire. Today, this aspiration is stifled by technocratic governance from above and by ethno-nationalism from below. Against both agendas we believe that the discussion on the European public goods belongs to the arena of politics. It belongs to the EU political space and to us citizens as its primary actors.

The full text of Charta 2020 is available in the following languages:

Development and presentations of Charta 2020

Charta 2020 was collectively composed at the European University Institute on 15 February 2019 and first presented at the European Parliament on 20 March. It was also presented at the Italian Chamber of Deputies on 16 April. Before the Maastricht Debate on 29 April, Charta 2020 has been presented at Maastricht University and Studio Europa, followed by Columbia University on 8 May.

Agora Europe

Charta 2020 is promoted by Agora Europe and Maastricht Working on Europe. Agora Europe aims to create opportunities for public debate – titled ‘Agora Europe Series’ – to think about how to reorganize the European political space and reintegrate within it. Where people come together to discuss the future of Europe and the potential of each country to reshape the European political space.


Project Coordinators
Caterina Di Fazio, Maastricht University, Agora Europe (France)
Rui Tavares, University of Lisbon, MEP Candidate, EGP (Portugal)

David Adler, European Spring Policy Coordinator (Greece/US)
Alberto Alemanno, HEC Paris (Spain)
Etienne Balibar, Columbia University (France)
Cristina Blanco Sio Lopez, University of Groningen (Spain/Netherlands)
Carlo Cappa, University of Rome Tor Vergata (Italy)
Suzana Carp, Sandbag (Belgium/Romania)
Mattia Ciampicacigli, FACM (Italy)
Andrea Costa Baobab Experience, (Italy)
Caterina Di Fazio, Maastricht University, Agora Europe (France)
Souleymane Bachir Diagne, Columbia University (US/Senegal)
Michele Fiorillo, Civico Europa (Italy)
Monica Frassoni, Co-chair of the European Green Party, MEP Candidate EGP (Italy)
Paola Giacomoni, University of Trento (Italy)
Daniel Innerarity, University of the Basque Country (Spain)
Alexandra Jouclard, Lawyer (France)
Satvinder Juss, King’s College London (UK)
Cécile Kyenge, MEP S&D (Italy)
Virginie Lefèvre, AMEL (Lebanon/France)
Lorenzo Marsili, European Alternatives (Italy)
Gian Giacomo Migone, Università di Torino (Italy)
Niccolo Milanese, European Alternatives (France)
Marco Maddalena, Sinistra Italiana (Italy)
Petar Markovic, ECIT Foundation (Belgium/Serbia)
Titus Molkenbur, Former Head of Operation Jugend Rettet (Germany)
Kalypso Nicolaïdis, University of Oxford (UK/France)
Claus Offe, Hertie School of Governance (Germany)
Sara Prestianni, Immigration Specialist (Italy)
Elena Pulcini, Università di Firenze, MEP Candidate EGP (Italy)
Teresa Pullano, University of Basel (Switzerland/Italy)
Giuseppe Provenzano, Minister for the South (Italy)
Nora Räthzel, Umeå University (Sweden)
Andrea Sangiovanni, EUI (UK)
Valentina Sardella, Architect (France/Italy)
Philippe Schmitter, EUI (US)
Rui Tavares, University of Lisbon, MEP Candidate, EGP (Portugal)
Pasquale Terracciano, Istituto di Studi sul Rinascimento (Italy)
Nadia Urbinati, Columbia University (Italy/US)
Giulia Valpione, Università di Padova (Italy)
Carlo Varotti, Università di Parma (Italy)
Miguel Vatter, Flinders University (Australia/Chile)
Frédéric Worms, Ecole Normale Superieure Paris (France)


Brando Benifei, MEP (Italy)
Sergio Cofferati, MEP (Italy)
Cécile Kyenge, MEP (Italy)
Pier Antonio Panzeri, MEP (Italy)
Massimo Paolucci, MEP (Italy)
Georgi Pirinski, MEP (Bulgaria)
Elly Schlein, MEP (Italy)
Daniele Viotti, MEP (Italy)
Marco Cappato, MP, Più Europa (Italy)
Monica Frassoni, Co-chair of the European Green Party, MEP Candidate EGP (Italy)
Alessandro Fusacchia, MP, Più Europa (Italy)
Rossella Muroni, MP, Liberi e Uguali (Italy)
Alessio Pascucci, Mayor of Cerveteri, Coordinamento Nazionale di Italia in Comune (Italy)
Massimiliano Picciani, Presidente Assemblea Delegati Estero Partito Democratico (France)
Federico Pizzarotti, Mayor of Parma, MEP Candidate ALDE (Italy)
Lia Quartapelle, MP, Partito Democratico (Italy)
Massimo Ungaro, MP, Partito Democratico (Italy)
Salvatore Biasco, University La Sapienza (Italy)
Laurent Bigarella, European Lab (France)
Davide Castro, DiEM 25 Social Media Coordinator
Amedeo Ciaccheri, Municipio VIII Rome President (Italy)
Roberto Esposito, Scuola Normale di Pisa (Italy)
Emanuele Felice, University G. D’Annunzio of Chieti-Pescara (Italy)
Giorgio Marasa, MEP Assistant (Italy)
Darian Meacham, Maastricht University (Belgium)
Simone Oggionni, Coordinamento Nazionale MDP (Italy)
Jorge Pinto, LIVRE (Portugal)
Andrea Pisauro, University of Oxford (UK)
Patrizia Pozzo, DiEM 25 National Collective (Italy)
Antje Scharenberg, Goldsmiths University of London (England)
Arturo Scotto, Coordinamento Nazionale MDP (Italy)
Andrea Serra, DiEM 25 National Collective (Italy)
Lucie Solem, Eurocité (France)
Ivan Vejvoda, IWM Vienna (Serbia)
Tony Venables, ECIT Foundation (Belgium)
Tommaso Visone, University La Sapienza (Italy)
Rainer Baubock, EUI (Germany)